New York State Magistrates Association 2023-2024 Officers & Directors


Hon. Kenneth Ohi Johnsen – Town Justice, Day

Judge Kenneth “Ohi” Johnsen has been the Town Justice for the Town of Day (Saratoga County) for 15 years, and ran his 4th uncontested election in November of 2019. He was first elected to the position in 2007, at 34 years of age. Ohi grew up in Webster, NY (Monroe County), and graduated from Webster High School in 1991. He then attended the University at Buffalo from 1991 to 1996 where he majored in International Studies and Spanish. In 1996 Ohi moved to Montana and worked as the Security Coordinator for the Big Sky Ski Resort. He spent his next few summers back in the Adirondacks, working as an ACA
certified whitewater kayaking instructor, and DEC licensed whitewater rafting guide. In the spring of 1998 Ohi became a Montana Highway Patrol
Officer (State Trooper). It was an amazing job with a terrific agency, but he left that job in 2001 to return to New York and be closer to family.
Upon his return to NY, he applied to the New York State Police, and was accepted to begin the NYSP Academy for the January 2002 class. Unfortunately, he had to take a deferment for that academy class. During his deferment, his youngest brother Toby was fighting terminal cancer. Toby passed away
on April 9th, 2003, leaving behind a wife, a 7 year old daughter, and a soon to be born son. Thankfully, Judge Johnsen is blessed to have them close by to this day. In 2011 Ohi went back to school at SUNY Empire State College for a Bachelors degree in Criminal Justice, focusing on Homeland Security and Counter-terrorism. Although working full time, he also took course work full time and graduated in February of 2014. Judge Johnsen served from 2013-2016 as the Saratoga County Magistrates Association Vice President, and served as a NYSMA Director from 2014-17. He then filled a Director’s vacancy on the board from June 2018 to September 2018. In 2018 at our annual conference, Judge Johnsen successfully ran from the floor for the 3rd Vice President’s position. In
2019, he was elected as the 2nd Vice President of NYSMA, a position he held for two years due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
He was elected as the 1st Vice President at the 2021 annual conference in Niagara Falls, NY. On November 1st, 2022 at the annual NYSMA conference
in Saratoga Springs, NY, Judge Johnsen was unanimously elected as the 2022/23 President Elect.

President Elect

Hon. Thomas J. Sheeran – Town Justice, Lewiston

Hon. Thomas J. Sheeran is Town Justice in the Western New York community of Lewiston. Judge Sheeran is a native of Katonah in the Town of Bedford. He
received his Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees from Ithaca College, a Master’s degree from Niagara University and a doctorate from the State University of New
York at Buffalo. Elected Town Justice in 1992, Judge Sheeran has been re-elected every four years and is currently in his eighth term. A longtime member of the Faculty of Education at Niagara University, Judge Sheeran is the author of dozens of articles, books and monographs, and has presented papers and
workshops across the U.S., Canada, and Asia. He is a member or fellow of many professional education and judicial societies and has served in various capacities in the Niagara County Magistrate’s Association. Judge Sheeran has served as a member of the senior faculty for the New York State Judicial Institute’s Continuing Education program for Town and Village Justices presenting programs in various venues across the State. In 2008, Judge Sheeran was appointed by the Chief Administrative Judge to the Advisory Committee on Judicial Ethics. Additionally, Judge Sheeran has served as a Director and officer of the New York State
Magistrate’s Association, having recently completed a term as Association third Vice President. In the most recent Annual Meeting of the Magistrate’s Association, Sheeran was elected to the position of first Vice-President. Judge Sheeran has been married to his wife Maureen for 51 years, has two children, Meaghan and Brendan and two grandchildren, Jack and Rian.

Vice Presidents

1st  – Hon. Susan Sullivan Bisceglia – Town Justice, LaGrange

Judge Sullivan-Bisceglia is Town Justice in the Town of LaGrange and Previous Associate Village Justice in the Village of Wappingers Falls, 2nd Vice President of the New York State Magistrates Association, Past President of the Dutchess County Magistrates Association and previous Member of the Industrial Board of Appeals for the State of New York. She received her J.D. from New York Law School and is a private attorney with SullivanBisceglia Law Firm, P.C., Poughkeepsie, New York. Judge Sullivan-Bisceglia has well over 18 years of combined experience obtained in the courts, major law firms, Fortune 500 companies and the State of New York. She is also a licensed Commercial Pilot with Instrument and Multi-Engine Ratings. Judge Sullivan-Bisceglia resides in LaGrangeville, New York with
her husband Paul and her two children.

2nd  – Hon. David Kozyra – Town Justice, Marcy

Judge Kozyra has been an active member of both the New York State and Oneida County Magistrates Associations since taking the bench in 2008. On the New York State Magistrates, Judge Kozyra served as a director, where he was chairman of the County Associations Committee, Outreach Committee, and a member of the Conference Committee. Judge Kozyra looks forward to working with the membership to provide ideas and knowledge to the state organization.

3rd – Hon. Barbara Seelbach – Town Justice, Clinton



Hon. James Evans – Town Justice,

Hon. James S. Evans (T/ Northumberland) was first elected to the bench in 2007 and has been a very active member of the Saratoga County Magistrates and Court Clerks Association having served as their past president. Judge Evans has resided in Northumberland since 1986 with his wife Linda, two children, Laura and Jillian. They have four grandchildren, Austin, Alexia, Madelynn and Toni. Judge Evans has recently retired from his job as District Manager of food service for AVI food systems Warren, Ohio, and is now working a couple days a week as a security escort at the Kellelring Navy training site in West Milton, New York.

Secretary / Executive Director

Hon. Tanja Sirago – Town Justice, Cairo

Tanja Sirago was a chief court clerk for six years prior to being elected town justice in 2008 for the Cairo Town Court. She is married to her husband Vinny for 35 years, enjoys traveling and spending time with her children and two grandchildren.


Hon. David M. Brockway - Village Justice, Horseheads
Hon. Debra K. Kluth - Town Justice, Kendall
Hon. Ronald W. Meister
- Town Justice, Mamaroneck
Hon. Albert E. Raymond - Town Justice, Berne

Hon. Michael A. Fedish - Town Justice, Chenango
Hon. Donald Nipper - Town Justice, Palermo
Hon. Deborah A. Stritzel - Town Justice, Williamson
Hon. Gregory P. Thomas - Town Justice, Union / Village Justice Johnson City

Hon. Timothy Cox - Town Justice,  Olive
Hon. William F. Franks - Town Justice,  Stoney Point
Hon. Jeffrey B. McCabe
- Town Justice, Moreau
Hon. Christopher D. Penfold  - Town Justice, Dunkirk

Immediate Past President

Hon. Dennis W. Young – Town Justice, East Otto